The Village of Adamsville was first settled in 1800, when Adam Rickabaugh, a Revolutionary War veteran, brought his family from Virginia to the valley that he had seen while in service. He applied to the federal government for this land with his bounty from war. His deed is signed by President Thomas Jefferson and Secretary of State James Madison. The log village on the Bob Evans Farm includes four cabins and a schoolhouse that have all been reconstructed and renovated on the farm.
A snap of the fingers confirms that bell clear acoustic quality inside the Ariel-Ann Carson Dater Performing Arts Centre. The Ariel is home to the Ohio Valley Symphony, the only professional orchestra in the southeast Ohio area. This restored 1895 opera house is host to professional and amateur performances and presentations year round with a five concert Ohio Valley Symphony series each year. A variety of performance classes are available as well as yoga, Zumba and ballroom dancing. Lectures, business meetings and more round out the Ariel calendar.
The Bob Evans Farm Homestead Museum offers a first look at the heritage of a company, an entrepreneur and his family and the history of the region. Visitors have the opportunity to sit at the reconstructed counter of the original Steak House owned by Bob Evans and see life-sized models of Bob and Jewell Evans filming their television commercials in their original kitchen through an old television console or through the lens of an actual television camera of the era. Visitors can follow the displays as the history of the business unfolds with its dreams and goals, personalities, challenges, growth and success.
The Dr. Samuel L. Bossard Memorial Library offers a variety of services to the community such as Homebound Delivery of Library Materials, Books Clubs for Adults and Teens, Dial-A-Story, Book-A-Bike Program and so much more. For a complete list of available services, visit their website at www.bossardlibrary.org.
Cliffside Golf Course offers eighteen challenging holes, with four sets of tees, which tests all skill levels and provides an exceptional golfing experience. Founded in 1988, Cliffside was designed by golf course architect Jack Kidwell.
The Elizabeth Evans Waterfowl and Bird Sanctuary is over 60 acres set aside for wetland bird and wildlife species while serving as a living, learning laboratory for students. The sanctuary is open year round for walk-in use during daylight hours.
The French Art Colony is a regional multi-arts center dedicated to supporting arts education and cultural enrichment in our communities. For more than 40 years, the French Art Colony has woven creative threads throughout the diverse area connecting people in a colorful celebration of life. Housed in an 1855 Greek Revival home, "Riverby," the Art Colony offers extensive youth arts programming designed to spark the imaginations of pre-K youth through teenagers and beyond. Adult art classes, exhibits and annual events showcase the creative spirit of our Appalachian region. The FAC's Riverby Theatre Guild, compromised of community and children's theatre, a puppetry playhouse and educational outreach, offers the magic of live performances throughout the year, utilizing a number of area venues. Visit the FAC's website for the most up-to-date information on gallery exhibits, classes and performances.
The Gallia County Historical and Genealogical Society offers a Gallia County Museum that is dedicated to the collection, conservation and preservation of artifacts relevant to Gallia County's rich history. Visitors to the musuem will enjoy the main rooms collection which features articles that have been donated by the residents of the county, along with exhibits of O.O. McIntyre, the Village of Vinton and Eno Grange. The museum also includes a Medical Room, Military Room and The Military Wall of Fame, which honors our Gallia County military men and women who served our country.
The purpose of the Gallia County Genealogical Society, OGS Chapter, Inc. is to promote interest in genealogical study and research and to take an active part in collecting and preserving records of interest to Gallia County, making them available for genealogical research. The society encourages active membership in the local and state societies by publishing genealogical material relating to Ohio, particularly Gallia County. The information is compiled by members and used to encourage members to join their lineage societies thereby honoring and documenting their ancestors. The society hosts several book signings for local authors and has various items for sale pertaining to genealogical research and Gallia County.
The John Gee Black Historical Center is a cultural and educational center to insure the preservatoin of tradition, culture, crafts, music and art of the African Americans in Southeastern Ohio and to educate our diverse people about African-American traditions and about the past and present contributions of African-Americans to this country.
The Lambert Lands Memorial is dedicated to thirty ex-slaves freed by slave holder Charles Lambert Jr. of Bedford County, Virginia, in his last will and testament. In 1843, the group migrated northward, crossed the Ohio River and settled on 365.5 acres in Morgan Township in Gallia County, Ohio. Gallia County had more than one major route for slaves to escape from the southern plantations in their quest for freedom. The Lambert Land is a communal property and served as the homestead for many families. Descendants of the Lambert Land settlers lived on the property until 1972.
The Nolan family's Laurel Valley Creamery got its start in 2005 when Nick and Celeste Nolan purchased farmland belonging to Nick's grandparents in an attempt to carry on their family farming tradition. Their goal now is to create a successful cheese business and also help people renew their relationship with food production. Nick and Celeste firmly believe that by turning grass into cheese there are rewards far greater than just filling stomachs.
Located in the midst of one of the largest Welsh-American settlements in North America, the Madog Center for Welsh Studies has established a Resource Center which helps to support its mission. In this endeavor, the center is unique in the United States and Canada. The center fosters an understanding and appreciation for Welsh heritage and contemporary Welsh culture. The center includes a library of rare Welsh books, Bibles, hymnals, family genealogical information and travel information.
Located in rural Gallia County, the Merry Family Winery is housed in the former Jewell Evans Grist Mill. The winery is family owned and operated as well as the vineyards. Come and sample their handcrafted wines and sit a spell on the front porch rockers. The winery offers Friday night "Pasta Dinners" and has rooms available for large groups. It's a perfect place for family and friends to gather in a casual and charming atmosphere.
Mound Hill Cemetery, also known as Fortification Hill, overlooks Gallipolis, West Virginia and the Ohio River. The cemetery dates back to 1880 and has at least two of the founding French 500 buried there. The plaque on the gates in the cemetery lists the names of thirty Revolutionary soldiers who were buried in Gallia County. The cemetery includes many gravestones of interest.
The Our House Museum was established in 1819 by Henry Cushing and his sister Elizabeth Cushing Foster. It was run as a tavern and inn to travelers. The tavern also served as a gathering place for the local people so that they might get the latest news and discuss current events with the travelers. Today, it is a place to see living history. The museum is staffed bu volunteers known as "docents," this is the French word meaning "to serve." Come and spend some time with the docents as they step back in history. Points of interst within the museum are General Lafayette's jacket that was left behind during his visit in 1825, the Summer Kitchen, the Tavern Room and artifacts in the attic.
The Pine Street Cemetery was established around 1790. The most interesting monuments are those of the original French 500 settlers and Congressman Vinton for whom, in 1850, Ohio's Vinton County was named. Some of the early gravestones remaining in the cemetery today are inscribed with dates of deaths as early as 1815, Many older headstones feature epitaphs with warnings to the living to convey strong and enduring messages. These sedate symbols of expression took far less space than words.
Situated in the foothills of Southeastern Ohio, Raccoon Creek County Park is bordered on the north by Raccoon Creek, the stream formerly called "Etha Petha," the Shawnee word for raccoon. To the south lie hills and upland fields adjacent to the historic Popular Knob. The park showcases 700 acres of both natural areas and recreation facilities that afford visitors many and varied leisure experiences year round.
Rio Valley Stables has partnered with Bob Evans Farm to bring horseback riding back to the farm. The skilled handlers will pair you with one of their beautiful horses to enjoy a ride through the trails at Bob Evans Farm.